

2021 NSW GOVERNMENT SCHOOLS

INTERNATIONAL STUDENT AWARDS CEREMONY



FEBRUARY 17, 2021

A MESSAGE FROM THE MINISTER



The NSW Government Schools
International Student Awards recognise
the outstanding achievements of our
international students and celebrate
the contributions they make to their
schools and communities. The awards
also recognise school and staff
excellence in supporting international
students.

Today's virtual awards ceremony will highlight some of the ways international students contribute to their schools and communities. You will hear about students who displayed outstanding leadership to rally and support their peers through the challenges of 2020. You will also hear the stories of students who had a positive impact within and beyond their school through volunteer work or fundraising activities.

The outstanding academic results achieved by international students in last year's Higher School Certificate are a testament to their resilience and dedication to their studies. Of the 628 international students who sat the HSC in 2020, 149 students appeared on the NSW merit list of Distinguished Achievers.

These results would not be possible without the work of the teachers, principals, schools and DE International staff who support international students during their studies and assist them to achieve their best. I thank these people and also the parents, relatives and carers of international students for their ongoing support.

Finally, I thank all the international students participating in today's virtual ceremony for your contribution and hard work and wish you all continued success in your future studies.

PROGRAM

Opening

Official Welcome

Elizabeth Webber | Chief Education Officer NSW Department of Education, International

International Student Leadership Award

Award presented by Gustavo Floreste Aizza Melo Toledo

International Student School Service Award

Award presented by Trung Hau (Henry) Tran

International Student Academic Achievement Award

Award presented by Yirong (Andrea) Zhao

2020 in review

International Student Coordinator of the Year AwardAward presented by Elizabeth Webber

International Student Program - School Excellence AwardAward presented by Elizabeth Webber

Ceremony close

The Hon. Sarah Mitchell, MLC
Minister for Education and Early
Childhood Learning

NOMINEES

ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

Anh Tai Ho

Beier Wang

Duy Long (Luke) Pham

Fengying (Jennifer) Zhu

Hoa Ha (Morgan) Truong

Hong Ngoc (Kelly) Le

Hong Nhat Phuong (Tracy) To

Hua (Tara) Cai

Jiawang (John) Cao

Jie (Monica) Xu

Jin Liu

Juehan (Crystal) Wang

Liang (Max) Xiong

Luu Tuong Vy (Vivian) Le

Mengna (Mona) Zhang

Minh Anh (Amy) Tran

Qi Shi

Qifeng (Rex) Zheng

Qingyan (Leo) Song

Ruochen (Nancy) Lou

Shibo (Davis) Jian

Tram Anh Truong

Trong Khang (Ken) Pham

Yanan (Cassie) Huang

Yantong (Cynthia) Chen

Yifei (Sally) Zhou

Yilin (Belinda) Li

Yuanyuan (Simone) Su

Ziao Zhou

Zijie (Peter) Li

SCHOOL SERVICE AWARD

Jie (Monica) Xu

Le Kieu An (Angie) Dinh

Qingyan (Leo) Song

Suya Lee

Thu Ngoc Hoang Tran

Yiman Li

LEADERSHIP AWARD

An (Annie) Le

Chi Hung (Bob) Huen

Thanh Thao (Chloe) Do

Thu Ngoc Hoang Tran

Tung Linh (Andrea) Ha

Yewon An

Finalists for the school and staff awards will be announced during the ceremony.

STUDENT AMBASSADORS

Mr Gustavo Floreste Aizza Melo Toledo

Marsden High School • Brazil

Mr Trung Hau (Henry) Tran

Canley Vale High School • Vietnam

Miss Yirong (Andrea) Zhao

Burwood Girls High School . China