Primary School

NSW government schools encourage self-expression and help students become independent learners. Students will develop strong literacy and numeracy skills. Lessons are designed to respond to the needs of individual students.

Primary school education in NSW begins in Kindergarten (5 years of age) and ends in Year 6 (12 years of age).


Learning in Kindergarten to Year 6 focuses on six key learning areas (KLAs):

  • English
  • Creative Arts
  • Human Society and Its Environment (including Languages)
  • Mathematics
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education
  • Science and Technology.


Kindergarten to Year 6

  • Term 1 (January)
  • Term 2 (April)
  • Term 3 (July)
  • Term 4 (October)