Senior Secondary School

Years 11 and 12 enable students to develop the necessary skills and knowledge they need to successfully complete the NSW Higher School Certificate (HSC).

The HSC is a two-year program with assessment tasks in each subject and practical work for some subjects and a final external written examination, in each course, at the end of Year 12.


Students must complete at least 12 units of preliminary courses (Year 11) and 10 units of HSC courses (Year 12), including English. Most HSC courses are worth 2 units each. Students typically study a minimum of six subjects in Year 11 and continue with five of these subjects in Year 12.

Compulsory Subject

English (Standard or Advanced) or English as a Second Language (ESL).

Choice of Subjects

A wide range of subjects are available in the NSW curriculum, including:

  • Ancient or Modern History
  • Business Studies
  • Creative Arts (Dance, Drama, Music, Visual Arts)
  • Economics
  • Engineering Studies
  • Food Technology
  • Geography
  • Legal Studies
  • Mathematics (with extension subjects available)
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education
  • Science (Biology, Chemistry, Earth and Environmental Science, Physics)
  • Software Design and Technology
  • A wide choice of languages

A selection of vocational subjects that also provide a Certificate-level qualification upon completion.

For more information visit the NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) website.


Year 11 Only

  • Term 1 (January)
  • Term 2 (April)

CRICOS provider name: NSW Department of Education | CRICOS provider code: 00588M